Skip to content

Roy Hibbert also donates $1 million to Georgetown athletics

Sep 3, 2014, 11:20 PM EDT

Boston Celtics v Indiana Pacers Boston Celtics v Indiana Pacers

Following Jeff Green’s lead, Roy Hibbert has made a sizable donation to his alma mater’s athletic department.

Like Green, the Pacers center committed $1 million to toward the construction of the John R. Thompson Jr. Intercollegiate Athletics Center.

Hibbert, via Georgetown release:

“I am deeply indebted to Georgetown University and the basketball program for all they have done for me,” Hibbert said. “I put in a lot of hard work to get where I am, but I was given a tremendous amount of guidance both on and off the floor from Coach Thompson III and I wouldn’t be here without him.”

We can debate the merits of donating to a profit-generating enterprise like Georgetown Athletics, but there’s no mistake the basketball program has earned loyalty from the players it has sent to the NBA. This remains a program to watch for draftniks.

Now, Greg Monroe better handle his free agency. Someone from the fundraising department is going to be hounding him for his check.

  1. bskeezy000 - Sep 3, 2014 at 11:24 PM

    Great for both of them! A little ridiculous, considering each player’s presumable net worth, but generous nonetheless….

  2. titansbro - Sep 4, 2014 at 7:14 AM

    Damn, the fundraising guy at Georgetown deserves a huge raise.

  3. nicktomfrank - Sep 4, 2014 at 12:40 PM

    Can’t get over how selfish this is on behalf of the players. Only about 843,790,001 better options for their charity.

    • mattness11 - Oct 27, 2014 at 8:00 AM

      What a dufus comment. These players are rich enough to give $1 million to Georgetown Athletic AND have enough left over to give to one of your 840 million charities.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2304)
  2. K. Irving (1884)
  3. A. Davis (1700)
  4. L. James (1562)
  5. K. Durant (1505)
  1. K. Bryant (1489)
  2. T. Thompson (1309)
  3. A. Aminu (1303)
  4. R. Rubio (1297)
  5. M. Leonard (1268)