Skip to content

Alonzo Mourning’s career retrospective and Hall of Fame speech (VIDEO)

Aug 9, 2014, 9:30 AM EDT

2014 Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony Getty Images

Alonzo Mourning was part of the 2014 class inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Friday, and there was never any doubt that he would be deserving of the honor.

Mourning played 15 seasons, the last five of which came after taking a year off to battle a life-threatening kidney disease. He came into the league with the Charlotte Hornets, but will be remembered by most for the 10-plus seasons he spent with the Heat, and winning a title in Miami in 2006.

More than just contributing statistically, Mourning embodied all of the qualities that Pat Riley valued most, and was the locker room leader from a team culture standpoint.

Here’s Mourning’s Hall of Fame career retrospective video:

And highlights from his speech can be viewed in the clip below.


  1. miamatt - Aug 9, 2014 at 11:20 AM

    The quintessential Miami Heatian.

  2. dezglobal - Aug 9, 2014 at 12:13 PM

    He seems like a good man

  3. titansbro - Aug 9, 2014 at 1:27 PM

    Loved Zo & Mitch Richmond.

  4. jimeejohnson - Aug 9, 2014 at 1:40 PM

    It was great when Mourning clobbered the Knicks.

  5. undagroundnbablogspot - Aug 9, 2014 at 5:21 PM

    Back in the day Mourning was like the only center in the league that could neutralize Shaq. Shaq even said that Mourning was “a better man” than himself after he came back from that kidney disease.

  6. jrob23 - Aug 10, 2014 at 3:13 AM

    Damn, guess they’ll let anyone in. Joining baseball as having The Hall of Very Good

  7. paleihe - Aug 10, 2014 at 12:38 PM

    I used to love that Hornets team with Larry Johson, Kendall Gill, Bouges, and Mourning.

  8. tontoepstein - Aug 10, 2014 at 1:34 PM

    There have been a lot of steroid cheats in the NBA, but that guy might be the poster boy.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2594)
  2. K. Irving (2059)
  3. L. James (1895)
  4. K. Bryant (1778)
  5. A. Davis (1772)