Skip to content

Grizzlies name general manager Chris Wallace general manager

Jul 29, 2014, 12:28 PM EDT

Chris Wallace’s replacement isn’t arriving just yet.

The Grizzlies reportedly planned – and who knows, still might plan – to hire an apprentice for Wallace to train. Then, they’d promote that person to general manager and replace Wallace.

But with Ed Stefanski the latest addition to Memphis’ front office, Wallace isn’t going anywhere anytime soon(supposedly).

I don’t know whether there’s a more-fitting way for the chaotic Grizzlies to announce this – naming their current general manager the new general manager with a tweet that contains, at least as of this writing, a bad link.

Best I can tell, Wallace has remained Memphis’ “general manager” since being hired in 2007. He was definitely general manager last season, though since-fired CEO Jason Levien seemed to run the show with the help of Stu Lash and John Hollinger, the latter of whom is still around.

So, I don’t know where the idea emerged Wallace was an “interim” general manager, though the Grizzlies’ confusing organizational struggle never left clear who was exactly running basketball operations.

Now and once again, that’s Wallace. I think.

  1. cbking05 - Jul 29, 2014 at 1:19 PM

    maybe he was re-named general manager

    • asimonetti88 - Jul 29, 2014 at 1:26 PM

      Maybe he was double super secret general manager before.

  2. milkman1989 - Jul 29, 2014 at 2:28 PM

    Guys i’m doing a dissertation on the NBA focusing on competitiveness. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE could you answer my questionnaire, its only 4 questions long and i promise it will only take 4 minutes long. Here is the link and i will be very greatfull to the community on here THANKS:

  3. sportsfan18 - Jul 29, 2014 at 2:38 PM

    maybe they’re paying him now

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2943)
  2. K. Irving (2289)
  3. A. Davis (1948)
  4. L. James (1741)
  5. K. Bryant (1713)
  1. T. Thompson (1437)
  2. K. Durant (1413)
  3. B. Jennings (1311)
  4. J. Clarkson (1259)
  5. M. Leonard (1164)