Skip to content

NBA issues statement saying Chris Paul was fouled before late-game turnover against Warriors

Apr 20, 2014, 3:30 PM EDT

The NBA has been consistent in issuing statements in the days following controversial calls made by its officials, and while there was plenty of buzz about one such situation late in the Warriors Game 1 win over the Clippers, the league says the referees ultimately handled it correctly.

Well, except for the fact that they missed the initial call.

With 18.9 seconds remaining and the Clippers trailing by two, Chris Paul lost the ball out of bounds, turning it over to the Warriors. The referees needed to go to the video review to confirm who would get possession, and as the replay was shown multiple times on the broadcast, it was immediately clear that Paul was fouled before the ball got away.

There was some chatter about it among fans and between the announcers as it was going on live, so the NBA issued a statement confirming that the officials handled the replay part of things in accordance with NBA rules.

The official release:

Rod Thorn, NBA President, Basketball Operations, issued the following statement today regarding a play late in the fourth quarter of the Golden State Warriors’ 109-105 win over the Los Angeles Clippers on April 19, at Staples Center:

“After reviewing postgame video, we have concluded that the instant replay review of the out-of-bounds call with 18.9 seconds remaining in the game involving the Clippers’ Chris Paul and the Warriors’ Draymond Green was administered correctly by the referees and the correct decision was made in awarding the ball to the Warriors.  Under the existing rule, referees may only use instant replay to determine which player caused the ball to go out and a limited set of other reviewable matters (see summary of rule here: http://t.co/IQ2qM6BOjb). Just prior to the ball going out-of-bounds, Paul was fouled by Green and Paul should have been granted two free throws. Contact preceding out-of-bounds calls is not a reviewable matter.”

Essentially, this is simply a reminder that foul calls like this one are not reviewable as the rules are currently written. But the admission that a foul should have indeed been called won’t make Paul or the Clippers feel any better about it as they’re looking at the wrong end of a 1-0 playoff series deficit.

  1. phillysports1 - Apr 20, 2014 at 3:46 PM

    He’s a CRY BABY.

  2. joeksnuffy - Apr 20, 2014 at 3:51 PM

    I’m sorry, but I don’t see a foul there. Green got back first and then Paul after the ball was knocked away. Paul also snapped his head back exaggerating the contact to try to get a foul. Clippers players are whiny floppers. Finally the referees were aware enough to not fall for their antics.

    • prokilla - Apr 20, 2014 at 4:17 PM

      he flopped, therefore was not called.. is this PST ? (ProsoccerTalk)

      • cantonbound13 - Apr 20, 2014 at 4:54 PM

        It’s allowed in the sissified NBA of today. It’s called LeBroning.

      • joeksnuffy - Apr 20, 2014 at 5:25 PM

        No. It wasn’t a foul. That’s why it didn’t get called. He got ball first. contact came after. then the flop.

    • duhwighthoward - Apr 21, 2014 at 4:55 PM

      @joeksnuffy I agree with you and the refs. There was no foul.

  3. aboogy123456 - Apr 20, 2014 at 3:54 PM

    It’s not like the foul was missed by the refs, but in many cases where a ball goes out of bounds because a guy hits you, the refs will just call out of bounds on the team who fouled. It works out in most cases, but when there is a replay review the ref can’t do anything. The foul was not the type of foul that a ref should call, but it caused the ball to go out of bounds.

  4. lakerade - Apr 20, 2014 at 4:29 PM

    No word yet on Griffin’s potentially brawl-inducing dousing of a fan in a Warriors tee?

  5. smcgaels1997 - Apr 20, 2014 at 5:33 PM

    Are they sure Paul didn’t flop ? He has a tendency to do that but thanks for reminding us he shoulda been favored

    • sportsfan18 - Apr 20, 2014 at 6:10 PM

      Best (or worst) flop of ALL TIME was Chris Paul. 18 second Youtube video…

  6. mrlaloosh - Apr 20, 2014 at 5:34 PM

    Poor CP-ME. I think someone used mental telepathy to make him miss those 2 free throws. I demand an investigation!
    Or, maybe he just choked. Again.

  7. jkirby317 - Apr 20, 2014 at 5:44 PM

    Who cares?

    • ranfan12 - Apr 20, 2014 at 5:56 PM

      You obviously, thanks

      • jkirby317 - Apr 20, 2014 at 6:30 PM

        It did not matter what the league said… The outcome of the game was the Clippers lost.
        The NBA could have issued a statement saying that the monstars stole Chris Paul’s ability and they would not replay the game. It is set in stone, the Clips lost.
        So who cares what the NBA says after the fact?

      • ranfan12 - Apr 20, 2014 at 7:22 PM

        Not many lol. I understand where you’re coming from. I just type that response to that question all the time

  8. seattlesuperchronic - Apr 20, 2014 at 6:07 PM

    Maybe the refs would’ve called it if Paul wasn’t blatantly trying to get phantom calls the previous 47 minutes.

  9. ProBasketballPundit - Apr 20, 2014 at 7:05 PM

    Steve Kerr said it best, “The NBA replay rule just undermined a great no call by the official on the Paul/Green play. So many unforeseen consequences of these rules.”

  10. manhandler1 - Apr 20, 2014 at 8:07 PM

    Who cares? Why isn’t the NBA issuing statements about some of the missed fouls that weren’t called on the Spurs? Sometimes the NBA just needs to shut up.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Will LeBron get booed Christmas Day in Miami?
Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (3645)
  2. D. Cousins (2561)
  3. L. James (2484)
  4. P. George (2318)
  5. R. Allen (2248)
  1. K. Bryant (2223)
  2. S. Marion (2186)
  3. A. Davis (2075)
  4. C. Anthony (1921)
  5. K. Love (1788)