Skip to content

Warriors’ owner guarantees championship. Someday.

Apr 11, 2013, 9:40 AM EDT

Joe Lacob AP

When Joe Lacob and Peter Guber bought the Golden State Warriors they had one clear task — change the franchise’s culture.

The Warriors had been to the playoffs once in the last 19 years — this was a corporate culture that had come to accept losing as part of doing business and it started with the former owner, Chris Cohen. He was no good at owning a basketball team. The new owners needed to change that and so they made bold, big moves — they hired Mark Jackson as coach, they pushed to trade Monta Ellis and they started efforts to get a new arena built in the city.

Lacob was speaking with Geoff Lepper (the Warriors official reporter) talking about the Bogut trade when he said this.

Good. I want an owner to say that, to have that drive. I want an owner to demand that of the organization. It’s not going to happen this year, but they made the playoffs again. That’s the first step and shouldn’t be discounted.

Here is Lacob talking with Ric Bucher of Comcast Sportsnet Bay Area about Golden State making the playoffs.

  1. DonRSD - Apr 11, 2013 at 10:11 AM

    I have no clue who this owner is, but I like his attitude.
    Too bad LeBron won’t allow you to win a ring for the next decade.


  2. kb2408 - Apr 11, 2013 at 12:15 PM

    I will sleep with a super model–someday.

  3. 13arod - Apr 11, 2013 at 2:53 PM

    he is right if they get one more star they will make the playoffs

    • miguel3557 - Apr 11, 2013 at 6:04 PM

      The Warriors became assured of a playoff berth two nights ago, 13arod, after they beat the Timberwolves. How profound of you not to have noticed.

  4. jimsjam33 - Apr 14, 2013 at 12:51 AM

    Their not to bad right now .

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2051)
  2. K. Irving (1657)
  3. A. Davis (1545)
  4. L. James (1448)
  5. K. Durant (1438)
  1. R. Rubio (1399)
  2. K. Bryant (1390)
  3. T. Thompson (1232)
  4. J. Clarkson (1160)
  5. A. Aminu (1136)