Feb 24, 2013, 2:00 PM EDT
Bynum either didn’t appreciate the contact, or the fact that Hansbrough continued to illegally move once the contact was made, and gave him a little shot to the midsection.
The referee was on top of it, and immediately called Bynum for the flagrant-two foul, resulting in an automatic ejection.
The frustration is somewhat understandable, considering how inferior the Pistons are to the Pacers right now, and that they were down 20 in the fourth quarter after losing by 32 in Indiana just the night before. And, Hansbrough isn’t known to be the cleanest of players out there, so it’s possible that over the course of these two games, Bynum had gotten tangled up with him multiple times, and this was just the final straw.
Bynum said it wasn’t intentional afterward, via Brendan Savage of MLive.com:
“It wasn’t (done) intentionally but it kind of happened through the course of the game,” Bynum said in the empty Pistons locker room. “The game was kind of physical. It was during the heat of the moment.
“It was nothing intentional, though.”
That’ll obviously be up to the league to decide, but you can’t punch guys, no matter the circumstances. It’s more than possible that Bynum will be suspended a game for his actions.
- PBT Extra: Did Chicago make the right move in firing Thibodeau? 22
- Bulls front office on Tom Thibodeau firing: “We probably wouldn’t be sitting here if we won a championship” 11
- Bulls fire Tom Thibodeau 61
- Dwight Howard: “I’m still a champion. And I won’t let anyone tell me anything different.” 71
- Rockets had an excellent season. Are they content with that? 23
- Harden struggles, Warriors role players step up leading team to Finals for first time in 40 years 42
- Dwight Howard hit with suspension-triggering technical foul 7
- PBT Extra: Cavaliers’ improved defense helps them to Finals 8