After Shannon Brown’s flagrant on Ginobili, Stephen Jackson says he would have knocked out anyone else
Jan 27, 2013, 1:00 PM EDT
Late in the third quarter of the Spurs’ win over the Suns on Saturday, Shannon Brown was called for a flagrant-two foul when he caught no ball and all Manu Ginobili on an attempt to block his opponent’s shot from behind.
The play looked (and sounded) worse than it actually was, but considering the loud smack that the contact made, along with the violent swat and the way Ginobili awkwardly fell, the call by the officials was understandable.
Ginobili’s teammate, Stephen Jackson, agreed that there was no ill intent by Brown on the play. But he had strong words for anyone else that might be thinking about getting overly physical with the Spurs.
Brown was not available for comment after the game. Ginobili said he felt “a big hit” but did not want to judge Brown’s intent.
“I know Shannon Brown,” Spurs forward Stephen Jackson said. “He doesn’t play like that. Obviously, if it was anybody else, I probably would have knocked him out.”
You’d like to think Jackson was joking here, but it’ll be interesting to see if the league ends up seeing it that way. Jackson took his tough guy act to Twitter earlier this season, when he threatened the Thunder’s Serge Ibaka and was slapped with a $25,000 fine for doing so.
- Chris Paul discusses his signature shoe, hoops with media at launch of his Jordan Brand CP3 VIII (VIDEO) 2
- 67RIEFNS No. 1: Tom Thibodeau managing his bigs 16
- Derrick Rose knows injury questions will keep coming. And coming. And coming. 7
- FIBA World Cup preview: USA, Spain, then who else can medal? 0
- Official ‘Clippers’ Number 1 Fan’ on herself and Donald Sterling: ‘I’ll always feel it’s our team’ 17
- Cavaliers GM admits concerns about rim protection on defense 19
- Coach K had DeMarcus Cousins as USA’s backup big long before final cuts 6
- World Cup preview: No Durant, no problem USA still one of two teams with legit shot to win gold 6