Skip to content

J.J. Barea fined $5K for second anti-flopping violation

Jan 21, 2013, 10:46 PM EDT

Minnesota Timberwolves v New Orleans Hornets Getty Images

J.J. Barea has been fined $5,000 for violating the league’s anti-flopping rules for the second time this season, the league announced on Monday.

The infraction that warranted the fine occurred in the Timberwolves loss to the Mavericks on Jan. 14, though the league did not immediately make video available of the specific play that resulted in the punishment.

Barea becomes the third player fined under the new rules put in place to clean up the league’s flopping epidemic. Reggie Evans and Gerald Wallace received the first two fines this season.

Barea received his first warning for flopping back on Nov. 5.

  1. mazblast - Jan 21, 2013 at 11:44 PM

    “We’re fining you, but we won’t say or show for what.”

    It’s so, so…David Stern.

  2. sweetnlow44 - Jan 21, 2013 at 11:46 PM

    How in the world has Chris Paul not racked up millions in flopping fines so far? This league is an absolute joke.

  3. tiennguyen645 - Jan 22, 2013 at 12:13 AM

    Stupid Mini leading 14 piont at haft final loss by 8 piont

    • maxxlou87 - Jan 22, 2013 at 5:52 PM

      led by 18 at one shows they have fight, just cant finish

  4. dko83 - Jan 22, 2013 at 2:40 AM

    Good for the NBA. Keep ’em coming. Eliminate this crap from the game. Don’t worry, CP will get his fines.. I have a feeling he won’t be able to help himself (I love him as a player but come on, you know he’s the biggest flopper along with Manu).

  5. maxxlou87 - Jan 22, 2013 at 5:53 PM

    This flopping rule is ridiculous….The Refs should be the ones who determine a flop and a foul, not the league. Too many players flop to keep tabs on. My as well fine the whole league

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2736)
  2. K. Irving (2208)
  3. A. Davis (1873)
  4. K. Bryant (1525)
  5. L. James (1442)
  1. K. Durant (1284)
  2. T. Thompson (1270)
  3. B. Jennings (1223)
  4. M. Leonard (1146)
  5. A. Aminu (1116)