Jan 2, 2013, 5:34 PM EDT
You kind of knew this was coming — once Charlie Villanueva was ejected for a flagrant two foul on the Kings’ Isaiah Thomas Tuesday night you had to expect a fine to follow. It did, the league announced a $25,000 fine for Villanueva on Wednesday.
To not fine Villanueva would violate standard NBA procedure and suggest that the referees made a mistake, and they were not going to do that in this case. I said from the start it was a borderline flagrant two, but if you’re going to call it one you have to fine him and the league will back the refs on borderline calls.
The incident happened before halftime when Thomas drove the lane and the Villanueva rotated over to stop him and did so with a hard foul that sent Thomas sprawling on the ground. Thomas came up angry and looking ready to fight but is stopped before anything happens. You can see the video above and decide for yourself if you think the fine is warranted.
- Chris Paul discusses his signature shoe, hoops with media at launch of his Jordan Brand CP3 VIII (VIDEO) 2
- 67RIEFNS No. 1: Tom Thibodeau managing his bigs 16
- Derrick Rose knows injury questions will keep coming. And coming. And coming. 7
- FIBA World Cup preview: USA, Spain, then who else can medal? 0
- Official ‘Clippers’ Number 1 Fan’ on herself and Donald Sterling: ‘I’ll always feel it’s our team’ 17
- Cavaliers GM admits concerns about rim protection on defense 19
- Coach K had DeMarcus Cousins as USA’s backup big long before final cuts 6
- World Cup preview: No Durant, no problem USA still one of two teams with legit shot to win gold 6