Nov 22, 2012, 9:30 PM EDT
This doesn’t happen very often, so when it does, you know it was something egregious.
The NBA released a statement saying that the officials missed a foul call at the end of the game between the Raptors and the Bobcats on Wednesday. Charlotte was leading by one, when the ball was inbounded to Andrea Bargnani. He pulled up for a jumper that would have won it had it gone down, but the ball fell well short of the rim, which usually means there was some contact that caused that to happen.
No call was made at the time, and the Bobcats escaped with the victory. But Bargnani was clearly hit on the shot, and the league said so a day later. It doesn’t make any difference for the Raptors, of course, who still end up with the loss.
It’s unclear why the league bothers to make public statements like this; accountability is normally a good thing, but when you can’t go back in time to correct a wrongful outcome of one of these games, it seems to serve little purpose.
- Reports: Paul Pierce agrees to three-year, $10 million contract with Los Angeles Clippers 0
- Report: LaMarcus Aldridge rules out Lakers in free agent decision 78
- Reports: Phoenix Suns sign Tyson Chandler, re-sign Brandon Knight, try to reshape roster 8
- Kevin Love will return to Cavaliers, contract is reportedly $110 million over five years 77
- Report: Spurs reach deal to trade Tiago Splitter to Hawks, create cap space for LaMarcus Aldridge offer 26
- Report: Heat, Goran Dragic agree to five-year deal worth $90 million 45
- Report: Paul Millsap had midnight meeting with Orlando, will decide between Magic and Hawks 17
- Report: Blazers, Damian Lillard nearing agreement on five-year max contract extension worth $120 million 17