Skip to content

Dallas’ Jason Kidd wins NBA Sportsmanship Award

May 3, 2012, 11:36 AM EDT

Jason Kidd AP

Jason Kidd, who has a personal foundation dedicated to youth education efforts, has been voted the NBA Sportsmanship Award by his peers. He will be given the Joe Dumars trophy for his efforts.

The NBA will make a $10,000 donation to The Jason Kidd Foundation, which is “dedicated to improving education among the youth, by ensuring that kids of all ages have the tools needed through mentoring, tutoring and technology programs.”

Kidd won the voting from his peers. Second place went to Shane Battier, followed by Antawn Jamison, Luke Ridnour, Jeremy Lin and Chris Paul. Each of them will receive a $5,000 donation toward the charity of their choice.

Kidd is a first-time winner. Stephen Curry won it last year, Grant Hill is a three-time winner.

  1. rickditka - May 3, 2012 at 1:56 PM

    well, he hasn’t beaten up any women in over a year. so yeah, sportsman of the year.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2259)
  2. L. James (1952)
  3. K. Irving (1798)
  4. K. Bryant (1750)
  5. A. Davis (1517)