Skip to content

Video: Cal State Bernadino’s Kwame Alexander can basically fly

Feb 14, 2012, 5:54 PM EST

Yes, this is from college basketball. D-2 college basketball, in fact. But it’s so cool we don’t care. This video contains Cal State Bernadino’s Kwame Alexander, who weighs 240 pounds, taking off from a step or two inside the free throw line, getting his body nearly parallel to the floor, and somehow throwing down over a defender positioned at least a foot outside of the no-charge lane.

It looks like a charge could have been called, but it appears that Alexander got his body so high that the only part of the defender that actually made contact with Alexander was his arms, and he then went to the floor to try to sell the charge. Besides, and perhaps more importantly, would you want to be the referee to make that dunk count as a turnover? Wow.

(Hat tips go to The Dagger, Deadspin, and Ball is Life.)

  1. captainwisdom8888 - Feb 14, 2012 at 7:46 PM

    To my understanding, if the defender is properly set(which he was) then he owns that ground. The guy on offense initiated 100% of the contact on this play and by all means it was a missed charge call. The awesomeness of the dunk doesn’t have any bearing on the situation…the rules of the game were simply not upheld, but it’s safe to say consistent reffing of basketball is an impossibility.

    • raidmagic - Feb 14, 2012 at 8:19 PM

      That was a flop all day long. Glad they didn’t call it.

  2. captainwisdom8888 - Feb 14, 2012 at 10:36 PM

    It is a simple fact that the guy on offense cannot forcibly invade the defender’s space if the defender is set…that would be a charge. There’s no other way around it. The guy essentially bulldozed the defender.

    I’m not questioning the greatness of this feat, I’m questioning the refs ability to officiate.

    • mytthor - Feb 15, 2012 at 2:24 AM

      There was only minimal contact, it’s a no-call.

    • david8726 - Feb 15, 2012 at 9:00 AM

      He flopped like he had been hit by sniper. There was almost no contact.

      If you want a charge to get called, he has to actually make some attempt to hold his ground – Not just drop like a sack of bricks as soon as someone grazes his arms.

  3. dadawg77 - Feb 15, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    The defender didn’t want the Alexander’s crotch in his face so he jerks he head back without any contact. This negates the charging call.

  4. thraiderskin - Feb 15, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    ball hard young man!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Can Rockets, Grizzlies keep up hot starts?
Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (8461)
  2. D. Wade (8165)
  3. K. Durant (7271)
  4. R. Westbrook (6095)
  5. T. Jones (5949)
  1. P. Gasol (5821)
  2. N. Young (5364)
  3. R. Gay (5318)
  4. J. Calderon (5202)
  5. B. Beal (5198)