Skip to content

Phil Jackson’s new book out next year, called “Eleven Rings”

Jan 31, 2012, 3:17 PM EDT

Phil Jackson Getty Images

The subtitle is not “suck on that, Red Auerbach.” Probably.

Phil Jackson said when he retired (and several times since) that he planned on writing the next part of his memoir. Apparently that is moving along. It will be released at some time next year through Penguin Press and will be titled “Eleven Rings” the company announced.

Jackson won 11 NBA championships as a coach — six with the Michael Jordan era Bulls and five with the Kobe Bryant (and Shaq) era Lakers — plus he had two as a player with the New York Knicks.

He has said the point of the book will be to talk about the lessons learned by his championship teams, which was something different in each case. It all sounds very Zen, but should be a fun read.

  1. bozosforall - Jan 31, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    He should have just called it, “Hey Red…I’m Better Than You”.

  2. blueintown - Jan 31, 2012 at 3:48 PM

    Who’s going to be first to call the guy accurately titling his book “Eleven Rings” overrated?

  3. jjpt4540 - Jan 31, 2012 at 3:53 PM

    He might have been coach for 11 rings but Red was involved coaching and team building for 16 rings.

    • bozosforall - Jan 31, 2012 at 5:01 PM

      You mean back when they still had only 8 teams?

      Face it, Boston crybaby..Phil was the better COACH. Especially given that he had to coach teams during the modern era…and deal with free agency and other things that Red the Robber Baron didn’t have to deal with.

  4. cantonbound13 - Jan 31, 2012 at 5:48 PM

    Dating the owner’s daugter is more impressive to me than the 11 rings.

  5. bleed4philly - Jan 31, 2012 at 11:55 PM

    He had the best players on his teams, he should’ve won more.

    • blueintown - Feb 1, 2012 at 9:26 AM

      More than eleven times?! Astonishingly stupid.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. L. James (1982)
  2. D. Rose (1782)
  3. K. Bryant (1632)
  4. J. Smith (1553)
  5. T. Thompson (1381)
  1. K. Irving (1360)
  2. T. Wroten (1338)
  3. A. Davis (1288)
  4. F. Saunders (1248)
  5. J. Embiid (1232)