Skip to content

Mavericks will not get championship rings on Christmas

Dec 2, 2011, 1:50 PM EDT

Dallas Mavericks v Miami Heat - Game Six Getty Images

The Christmas present Dirk Nowitzki and Jason Kidd most want they will not get to open. They have to go shopping with Mark Cuban for it first.

While the Mavericks championship banner will be raised to the rafters on the NBA’s opening day — while LeBron James and the Heat watch — the players will not get their championship rings that day.

Because Mark Cuban hasn’t had them made yet. reports the details.

Mavs owner Mark Cuban has not had the 2010-11 championship rings designed because he wants to get input from Dirk Nowitzki, Jason Terry and Jason Kidd as to how the rings should look, Cuban confirmed Thursday night.

“I think he is waiting for J-Kidd and Dirk and I to come up with something,” Terry said Thursday when he was the lone Mavs player to work out at the American Airlines Center on the first day that locked-out players could return to their teams’ practice facilities.

The Mavericks will do a separate ring ceremony later in the season. Once they get them made.

Cuban said after the finals he wanted to do something other than the “old school” championship rings. Except he has a veteran team of old-school guys who want a ring. So they work together to figure out something.

Cuban joked on twitter this week he wants to present the team with “solid gold commemorative mouse pads.” Aren’t mouse pads old school?

  1. thetooloftools - Dec 3, 2011 at 1:29 AM

    Don’t forget to make an extra ring for LeBron. He’ll never earn one of his own so may as well.

    • jimeejohnson - Dec 3, 2011 at 12:22 PM

      Your online name is appropriate. You represent idiots well.

  2. chargerdillon - Dec 4, 2011 at 12:59 AM

    Good job Stern way to be Jewish on Christmas…..oh wait

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2376)
  2. K. Irving (1883)
  3. L. James (1755)
  4. K. Bryant (1638)
  5. A. Davis (1507)