Skip to content

Complete turnover: Nobody from 2010 NBA finals returns

May 27, 2011, 4:10 PM EDT

Los Angeles Lakers guard Bryant drives to the basket against Boston Celtics players in the second half of their NBA basketball game in Boston Reuters

Almost always, there is some consistency year-to-year in the NBA finals — the Lakers have been there three straight, Boston two of the last three. Even when it’s new teams, it’s not uncommon for a player (a Robert Horry, a James Posey) to be role players on a different team to make the finals.

Not this year, according to Jessica Camerato of CSN New England.

Both the Lakers and the Celtics had relatively stable rosters year-over-year and both of them got eliminated in the second round by the team eventually making it to the finals. That eliminates most of the guys.

But Brian Scalabrine went to Chicago with Tom Thibodeau and he made it to the conference finals (in street clothes, but he made it). Kendrick Perkins and Nate Robinson were with the Thunder, but they also made it to the conference finals before falling. Tony Allen was with the surprising Memphis Grizzlies but they lost to the Thunder.

What about Eddie House with the Heat you say? House was with the Celtics last season, but was traded near the deadline to the Knicks, he was not with Boston in the finals.

  1. randysavage4ever - May 27, 2011 at 5:26 PM

    Shocking to see what happens when the NBA isn’t completely FIXED…

  2. trbowman - May 27, 2011 at 5:37 PM

    I wish the lack of parity hurt the NBA, but it doesn’t. They’re fine with these superteams as is. The Heat sell out wherever they go. TV ratings are fantastic for the matchups between the stars in the playoffs. Sadly, there’s zero reason for the NBA to care about the lack of parity. It’s good for business.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2546)
  2. K. Irving (2227)
  3. A. Davis (1916)
  4. K. Bryant (1607)
  5. L. James (1605)
  1. K. Durant (1478)
  2. A. Aminu (1456)
  3. M. Leonard (1425)
  4. T. Thompson (1384)
  5. A. Jefferson (1255)