Apr 18, 2011, 4:28 PM EDT
One day after a Kendrick Perkins tip in ended up being a key part of Oklahoma City’s win over Denver, the league has admitted the referees blew it. Never should have counted.
I’m sure that makes George Karl feel so much better.
You can see the video here, but let us set the stage: The Thunder were up by one with 1:05 seconds left when Russell Westbrook pulled up for a 13 footer, which was bouncing around and apparently on its way off the rim when Perkins leapt, got his hand in the net then tipped in the ball that was still over the cylinder. (NBA rules do not allow you to tap a ball sitting on or above the rim, the ball has to fall off before it can be touched.)
It was an obvious offensive goaltending call and everyone new it… except the referees missed it. The tip put the Thunder up three and could never get over that hump. That tip mattered.
Here is the official statement from the league:
“Kendrick Perkins was improperly credited with a basket that should have been ruled offensive basket interference with 1:05 remaining in last night’s game. Although a player is permitted to touch the net while the ball is in the cylinder above the rim, Perkins also touched the ball while it was still in the cylinder which is a violation and constitutes goaltending.”
Like we said, you know George Karl is just thrilled to hear this now.
- Kevin Durant says he’d ‘love to’ stay with Thunder his entire career, wants his jersey retired in OKC 7
- Anthony Davis says James Harden should be MVP 20
- Stop judging J.J. Redick by his Duke days if you haven’t already 7
- Thunder say Kevin Durant underwent successful bone graft surgery, will return in 4-6 months 4
- Five Things We Learned in NBA Monday: DeMar DeRozan went Harden on Harden 12
- Derrick Rose returns to full-contact practice, Bulls return date still unknown 13
- Report: Sacramento consultant Chris Mullin to take St. John’s head coaching job 5
- PBT Extra: Taking twitter questions on Clippers, Michael Carter-Williams, more 7