Skip to content

Dwight Howard, Ron Artest named finalists for humanitarian award

Mar 31, 2011, 7:25 PM EDT

Ron Artest Parade

Ron Artest, who once jumped into the stands and got suspended for a full season, and Dwight Howard, who currently leads the league in technical fouls, are both finalists for the Walter J. Kennedy Citizenship award. The award is given each year to an NBA figure who shows “outstanding service and dedication to the community.” Kyle Korver and Marcus Camby are the other two finalists for the award.

Artest has become a spokesman for mental health awareness, and auctioned off his NBA championship ring to pay for school psychiatry.

On Valentine’s day, Dwight Howard launched the D12 Foundation, whose stated goal is “to work with children’s organizations in establishing programs that will plant seeds of generosity, encourage education, support leadership, and inspire activity and health in the youth it reaches.”

Korver launched the Kyle Korver foundation, which reaches out to underprivileged youth in Philadelphia, Omaha, Salt Lake City, and Chicago.

Marcus Camby has been heavily involved with many charitable organizations throughout his 14-year NBA career.

  1. thestudiokida - Mar 31, 2011 at 7:57 PM

    Nobody can equal Artest’s auction for his championship ring. I know it’s just jewelry but what it represents is so much more than the gold & diamonds. I would have never done it and that probably makes Artest a bigger man.

  2. yankeesjetsknicksrangers - Mar 31, 2011 at 11:14 PM

    I can’t stop laughing at the pic you chose of Artest. Good one

  3. 1historian - Apr 1, 2011 at 7:00 AM

    This is a joke, right?

  4. rude7833 - Apr 19, 2011 at 10:52 PM

    Artest sickened basketball the way mike Tyson ruined boxing.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2038)
  2. K. Irving (1644)
  3. A. Davis (1534)
  4. L. James (1440)
  5. K. Durant (1423)
  1. K. Bryant (1375)
  2. R. Rubio (1371)
  3. T. Thompson (1223)
  4. J. Clarkson (1154)
  5. A. Aminu (1131)