Skip to content

Should Thursday’s wild Jazz/Nuggets ending been even wilder?

Mar 4, 2011, 5:09 PM EDT

Jazz/Nuggets ending

Every time you thought the Denver Nuggets had put away the Utah Jazz Thursday night, they came back to life like Freddy or Jason or Michael or any of your favorite horror movie killing machines. All we needed was a Jamie Lee Curtis scream and we were ready to go.

And the Jazz should have had one more life.

Quick run down. You thought the dagger was Arron Afflalo’s three with 11 seconds left that put the Nuggets up four (102-98). Especially after Raja Bell missed a rushed three for the Jazz and Andrei Kirilenko fouled Raymond Felton. He hit one of two with 5 seconds left, and now the Nuggets up 5. But then Devin Harris hits quick three and there are 1.2 seconds left.

Kenyon Martin just has to inbound the ball — and he threw it right to Kirilenko who was guarding the inbound pass. The startled Kirilenko was feet from the basket, rushed a shot…

And airballed the tying layup.

Except the Jazz should have had another shot.  Look at the photo with this story, a screen shot from a split second after Martin inbounded the ball to Kirilenko. Martin reaches out and touches the ball from out of bounds. That is a violation. Should have been Jazz ball out of bounds. Jazz blog SLC Dunk noticed it first and Tom Ziller of SB Nation confirmed with the NBA. The referees missed the call.

Then again, ball out of bounds with a second or so on the clock means a catch-and-shoot likely contested shot. Unless the Nuggets fall asleep on the alley-oop inbounds.

But really, the best shot the Jazz had at tying that game was the one Kirilenko airballed.

  1. denverhoopdreams - Mar 4, 2011 at 5:17 PM

    Such a great game though. Nuggets won in Utah? REALLY?!?! I was amazed.

  2. ezwriter69 - Mar 4, 2011 at 7:30 PM

    He airballed it because KMart knocked it loose from out of bounds… Kirilenko never had control of it, because KMart knocked it loose. As bad a call as it gets… total incompetence, what the bleep were the three officials watching other than the ball that all three of them miss such a basic call? Maybe the betting line????

    • denverhoopdreams - Mar 5, 2011 at 11:21 AM

      Yeah, but the refs were calling it for the Jazz the whole game. Them not paying attention in the end there was what they were doing all game as it is.

    • dking1963 - Mar 5, 2011 at 1:01 PM

      Yes, but also look at the clock. The Nugget announcers actually noticed that clock was at 0 before he even lost the ball. When Kirilenko hands are up by the rim, you can see the 0.00 on the clock. Even if they made the call on Martin, they would have probably checked the replay, and there would have been well less than a second less on the clock.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2367)
  2. L. James (1999)
  3. K. Irving (1890)
  4. K. Bryant (1833)
  5. A. Davis (1582)