Skip to content

Expect the Bobcats to stay the Bobcats

Dec 31, 2010, 10:04 AM EDT

Image (1) bobcats_logo-thumb-250x182-19284.jpg for post 3934

At his very first press conference as owner, Michael Jordan was asked about changing the name Bobcats. There are some in Charlotte who despise that name — former owner Bob Johnson picked it and the feeling is he was naming the team after himself.

Jordan said he was open to the idea, but that it would be a process that started with research.

Well, that research is in and the name Bobcats will stay, Bobcats marketing guru Pete Guelli told the Charlotte Observer. The research showed “no groundswell” for a name change, he said.

Ever since George Shinn — owner of the Charlotte Hornets back in the day — poisoned the well in Charlotte with a tawdry sexual harassment trial and a series of other missteps, the NBA has been a hard sell in what was once a hotbed of the league. The only way to change that is winning (which creates its own problems because you have to spend to win in today league and the Bobcats do not have the revenue the Knicks, Celtics and others do). Steady ownership and wins, that’s what matter.

Do that and the name will be irrelevant.

  1. thestudiokida - Dec 31, 2010 at 12:07 PM

    Here in Charlotte we held a vote to name the team and we selected Charlotte Flight (whywhywhy?). Bob Johnson vetoed the vote and I believe was quoted as saying that Bobcats is best since he’s a “Cool cat named Bob”.

    I can’t imagine a sports team named ‘Flight’ so I’d rather keep it Bobcats. Plus I already have shirts and jerseys.

  2. dolphinatic - Dec 31, 2010 at 6:48 PM

    The name sucks as is. And the flight is even worse. Eveyr loss would hold some title about taking flight. Jordan is a bright guy, Im sure he will change it to something good… Like the Jordans (hey it worked in Orlando).

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2318)
  2. K. Irving (1829)
  3. L. James (1715)
  4. K. Bryant (1596)
  5. A. Davis (1459)