Skip to content

Four veteran referees retire, but Dick Bavetta will be back at 71

Sep 14, 2010, 10:39 PM EDT

Thumbnail image for anthony_ref.jpgSeventy-two years of experience has left the NBA refereeing ranks. To be replaced by five younger refs called up from the D-League.

That can be good or bad, depending on your worldview of referees. In reality, it probably makes little different.

The New York Times has the details. Joe DeRosa, Joe Forte, Sean Corbin and Phil Robinson are gone.

The vacancies will be filled by five Development League referees, one of whom will stand out for his size if nothing else.

Kevin Cutler, who is 6 feet 8 inches, will be one of the two tallest officials in N.B.A. history. (Michael Henderson, who was also 6-8, worked for the league from 2001 to 2005.)

Cutler, 42, became a curiosity in N.B.A. arenas last season when he refereed a half dozen games as part of an initiative aimed at preparing top prospects. Four others who participated in that program — Brent Barnaky, Nick Buchert, Josh Tiven and James Williams — have also been promoted.

Lest you think it’s going to be all young whippersnappers who can keep up with the speed of the game, Dick Bavetta will be back. He’ll turn 71 this season.

  1. JoeSixPack - Sep 15, 2010 at 3:45 PM

    Kind of reminds me of Chris Berman’s interview of George Halas from years back:
    “I was interviewing George Halas and I asked him who is the greatest running back he ever saw. He said, ‘That would be Red Grange.’ And I asked him if Grange was playing today, how many yards do you think he’d gain. And he said, ‘About 750, maybe 800 yards.’ And I said, ‘Well, 800 yards is just okay.’ He sat up in his chair and he said, ‘Son, you must remember one thing. Red Grange is 75 years old,'”

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2766)
  2. K. Irving (2130)
  3. A. Davis (1825)
  4. K. Bryant (1611)
  5. L. James (1595)
  1. T. Thompson (1311)
  2. K. Durant (1291)
  3. B. Jennings (1217)
  4. J. Clarkson (1165)
  5. M. Leonard (1064)