Skip to content

LeBron, Wade, 'Melo play with president Obama for wounded troops

Aug 8, 2010, 7:48 PM EDT

Thumbnail image for obama.jpgTurns out there is one other person who can put together a superteam besides Pat Riley.

President Barack Obama summoned some of the biggest stars in the NBA to play a special game for wounded troops, according to the Associated press.

Playing were LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Carmelo Anthony as well as legends Bill Russell and Magic Johnson. University of Connecticut star women’s team player Maya Moore was also part of the event.

There aren’t a lot of details from the event as reporters were shut out of the event. Which means a couple of things most likely — Obama talked some trash, and the troops had a good time.  The second part is the only important part.

  1. jk - Aug 8, 2010 at 11:21 PM

    I am glad Obama has time for this, being the president and all

  2. Kirk - Aug 9, 2010 at 12:50 AM

    Even doing something for wounded troops doesn’t keep you insufferable .astards from complaining !

  3. Craig W. - Aug 9, 2010 at 2:51 AM

    Even the President of the United States needs some down time. When that time is taken by entertaining wounded troops, the rest of us should simply stop our bickering and try contributing to the solving of problems instead of complaining about them.

  4. Sguy2130 - Aug 9, 2010 at 12:38 PM

    Not sure why anyone is giving Pat Riley credit for putting together this “team” when it was all D.Wade who brought in the other superstars to ride his coat tails. All Riley did was unload the entire team. Not saying Riley isn’t good at what he does, but he didn’t put this together other than signing mediocre vets, I guess there is too much credit to go around when instant eutopia erupts in South Beach.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2051)
  2. K. Irving (1657)
  3. A. Davis (1545)
  4. L. James (1448)
  5. K. Durant (1438)
  1. R. Rubio (1399)
  2. K. Bryant (1390)
  3. T. Thompson (1232)
  4. J. Clarkson (1160)
  5. A. Aminu (1136)