Skip to content

Dirk Nowitzki agrees to terms with Mavericks

Jul 3, 2010, 10:00 PM EDT

Thumbnail image for dirk nowitzki.jpgDirk Nowitzki got what he wanted: A lot of money for the next four years, extending into the new collective bargaining agreement.

The Dallas Mavericks got what they wanted: Nowitzki to take a little less money, giving them some flexibility to bring in other players.

Saturday night, the Mavericks and Nowitzki agreed to terms on a four-year, $80 million contract, first reported by Marc Stein of ESPN. He can’t sign the deal until July 8, which is what he’ll do.

Nowitzki opted out only so that he could negotiate a new deal into the new CBA, which will be cutting the players off at the knees more restrictive. He never looked anywhere else, he was always going to remain a Maverick. It was just a matter of time and money.

Dallas has been very aggressive on the looking for sign-and-trade free agent market — they have a good team and owner Mark Cuban believes them to be just one more piece away from title contention. Is that true? Depends on the piece, doesn’t it.

  1. cecil - Jul 3, 2010 at 11:45 PM

    Dallas had it’s shot in 2006. With or without Dirk, they will not win a title during the next decade. Go Spurs Go!

  2. JRock - Jul 4, 2010 at 1:04 AM

    That’s ok. With as many championships as San Antonio has won, they will always be a POS city. The River Walk is disgusting. Cheers!

  3. mike - Jul 4, 2010 at 2:37 AM

    gee texans are so educated!!!!

  4. Matt - Jul 4, 2010 at 5:52 AM


  5. Brian - Jul 4, 2010 at 12:40 PM

    The Mavs might have missed there chance, but you cant honestly think the Spurs are going to win another one soon do you?

  6. Phillip Fisher - Jul 5, 2010 at 12:55 PM

    Dallas big mistake was not signing Nash when they had him-if they still had him, they may already have won a “Champion Ship” by now.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 NBA Player Searches
  1. D. Rose (2402)
  2. L. James (2019)
  3. K. Irving (1923)
  4. K. Bryant (1858)
  5. A. Davis (1604)